Home -> Law Blog Directory -> Family Law Blogs -> SC Family Law Blog
(866) 635-2689 for Personal Injury or (866) 635-9402 for Criminal Defense
Find a Local Lawyer
Divorce (866) 635-6190
Personal Injury (866) 635-2689
Criminal Defense (866) 635-9402
Family Law
: SC Family Law BlogInformation About Marriage Licenses in South Carolina
By Ben Stevens
To get married in the State of South Carolina, you need to obtain a marriage license. The following requirements apply to both residents and non-residents:
- The bride and groom must appear together at the office of a South Carolina county probate judge and file a written application. This application asks for the full name, social security number, age, and place of residence of the bride and the groom. It is a sworn statement that must be signed by the bride and the groom and then notarized in the office of the probate judge.
- Some probate judges require both the bride and groom to show their social security cards.
- There is a waiting period after the application is filed before the license can be picked up and the marriage can take place. This waiting period varies from county to county, so please contact the appropriate county probate judge at least a week before you plan to get married.
- If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent. But you must provide proof of your age (or simply identification if you're over age 25) by presenting one of the following:
- Valid driver's license
- Original birth certificate or a certified copy of your birth certificate
- Current military identification card
- Current passport
- If you are under the age of 18, parental consent can be granted for boys and girls who are at least 16 years old. All minor applicants must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of their birth certificate, which becomes a part of their permanent application record. The parent or legal guardian of a minor applicant must appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage.
- No blood test or physical exam is required.
- South Carolina residency is not required.
- No proof of divorce is required.
- The fee for a marriage license varies from county to county.
Additional Information
- A South Carolina marriage license is valid only for marriages performed in South Carolina.
- There is no expiration date for a South Carolina marriage license.
- South Carolina laws concerning marriage and marriage licenses
Source: "South Carolina – How to Apply for a Marriage License", published as part of SCIway.net's "Guide to Planning Your South Carolina Wedding"
Full post as published by SC Family Law Blog on July 09, 2009 (boomark / email).
Gay Marriage Laws
Where same sex couples can marry
Hawaii Divorce Laws
How to end a marriage in paradise
Divorce Laws
How to end a marriage
California Supreme Court Proposition 8 Decision
Court Rejects Challenges to Proposition 8, but Finds Marriages Valid
Sex Offender Lists
Registries by State and County
South Carolina Firm
Recalls Frozen Meat and Poultry Products
Family Law
involving divorce, child custody, spousal support, common law, adoption and same sex marriage.
Mining Licenses
Gecamines awarded $2 million settlement.
Storm8 Faces Class Action over Personal Information Harvesting through iPhone Games
Storm8 Faces Class Action of Personal Information Harvesting through iPhone Games
Zonisamide
FDA Issues Information on Risk for Metabolic Acidosis
Lifeblood
alleging negligence after computers were stolen which contained personal information.

An evaluation of South Carolinas marriage amendment
South Carolina goes back in closet
Oregon church demands same-sex marriage, refuses licenses








