ADVERTISEMENT



Google       

Home -> Law Blog Directory -> Public Defense Blogs -> A Public Defender

OR PHONE (866) 635-1838 for Bankruptcy Help, (866) 635-6190 for Divorce,
(866) 635-2689 for Personal Injury or (866) 635-9402 for Criminal Defense

Find a Local Lawyer

Bankruptcy (866) 635-1838
Divorce (866) 635-6190
Personal Injury (866) 635-2689
Criminal Defense (866) 635-9402

Bookmark

Public Defense

: A Public Defender

CT: (not) so soft on cop assaults

By Gideon

ADVERTISEMENTS

Man, we live in such a namby-pamby sissy state. All our judges are liberal, defendants regularly walk out the door after committing multiple homicides which involve gouging the eyes out of little children and eating their entrails while singing songs of the devil and Hitler (too soon?).

And we regularly condone assaulting cops without handing out as much as a slap on the wrist.

What’s that? We don’t?

A new report from the Office of Legislative Report indicates that CT has the second harshest sentencing scheme of all the northeastern states for assaults on cops (which includes throwing paint). Puts the call for a mandatory-minimum sentence in a whole new light, doesn’t it? Take a look:

Attachment 2: Survey of Neighboring States’ Penalties for Assaulting Public Safety Officers

State and Statute Citation Imprisonment Fine
Connecticut

CGS § 53a-167c

1-10 years Up to $ 10,000
Maine

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. t: t. 17-A § 752-A

Not more than five years Up to $ 5,000
Massachusetts

Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 265, § 13D

Not less than 90 days nor more than two and half years Not less than $ 500 nor more than $ 5,000
New Hampshire No Statute
New Jersey

N. J. Stat. § 2C: 12-1(b)(5)(a)

If victim suffers bodily injury: three to five years

If victim does not suffer bodily injury: up to 18 months

Up to $ 15,000

Up to $ 10,000

New York

N. Y. Penal Law § 120. 08 and 120. 11

Assault: three to fifteen years

Aggravated Assault: three to twenty five years

Up to $ 5,000 for either assault or aggravated assault
Rhode Island

R. I. Gen. Laws § 11-5-5

Not more than three years not more than $ 1,500
Vermont

Vt. Stat. Ann. t: t. , § 1028

Not more than one year not more than $ 1,000

Soft on crime indeed.

Full post as published by A Public Defender on January 08, 2010 (boomark / email).

Bloggers, promote your law blog by nominating your blog for inclusion in USLaw.com's Law Blog Directory and RSS Reader. Benefits described.
Lawsuits and Settlements

Related Searches

























































































































US Law
#1 Online Legal Resource













Your Blog Subscriptions
Subscribe to blogs

10,000+ Law Job Listings
Lawyer . Police . Paralegal . Etc
Earn a law-related degree
Are you the author of this blog? Adding USLaw.com to your Blogroll increases relevance. You qualify to display a USLaw Network badge.
Suggest changes to this blog's description or nominate another for inclusion. Register for updates.


Practice Area
Zip Code:

Contact a Lawyer Now!






0.0022 secs (from cache 11/03/26 02:43:32)