Home -> Law Blog Directory -> Insurance Law Blogs -> Kentucky Tort Journal
(866) 635-2689 for Personal Injury or (866) 635-9402 for Criminal Defense
Find a Local Lawyer
Divorce (866) 635-6190
Personal Injury (866) 635-2689
Criminal Defense (866) 635-9402
Insurance Law
: Kentucky Tort JournalSupreme Court to Hear Whether Insured Can Prejudice Insurer's Right to Subrogation and Still Collect Under Policy.
By Edward A. Brutscher, Esq.
Gilbert v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co., 2007-SC-78-DGNationwide had been granted summary judgment at the trial court. On appeal Gilbert argued that in reading her Nationwide policy there was no way she could have known that the statute of limitations on her claim expired after two years. (She was represented by at least two different attorneys). She acknowledges that Nationwide can shorten the statute of limitations, but she claims that it failed to clearly do so in the contract. Nationwide argues that whether the statute of limitations is two years, or 15 years, the point is that under the policy, Gilbert was to do nothing to prejudice Nationwide?s right to sue or otherwise recover from anyone else who may be liable for property damage to Gilbert?s vehicle.
Auto Insurance. Property Damage. Claim against the insured's own carrier. If suit has not been filed against an offending tort-feasor within two years of an accident, is an insured barred from making a claim against their own insurer for payment under collision coverage?
The Court of Appeals concluded; "There is no dispute that Gilbert?s actions clearly prejudiced and prevented Nationwide from recovering from a subrogation claim against Prime and Baldanza and this was clearly a violation of the contract between Gilbert and Nationwide." It upheld the summary judgment, 2-1.
In dissent Judge Miller declared; "It is true that she [Gilbert] may lose her rights under the contract by operation of law, i.e., waiver or estoppel. She may also, of course, lose her rights by release of the tortfeasor, which she did not do. She cannot, however, lose her rights under the contract by allowing the statute of limitations to run against her subrogee, which has no rights until payment is made. It would be a strange state of affairs if an insured under a collision contract of insurance were bound to settle with his insurer in time to permit the insurer to prosecute a subrogation claim against the tortfeasor within the time prescribed for limitations of a tort action."
It is interesting to note that there was no dispute that Prime, Inc. had made an offer to resolve the property damage claim well within the statute of limitation. However, there was a dispute as to whether this offer (made in 2000) was ever accepted or whether it was in fact, rejected. Gilbert initially claimed she accepted the offer in November 2003 at a mediation, but after summary judgment was entered, she claimed for the first time, it was accepted when it was made. Prime claimed the offer was rejected by Gilbert when made.
Another interesting note is Judge Miller's unsupported conclusion that Gilbert cannot lose her rights under the contract by allowing the statute of limitations to run." Gilbert has no rights beyond those set forth in the contract. She is allowed coverage, but only if she does not prejudice Nationwide's right to subrogation, which she clearly did.
So what was Gilbert to do? Simple, either accept the offer, sue the tortfeasor within two years, or demand coverage under her own policy, forcing Nationwide to subrogate. What did she do? nothing. She waited until the statute ran to seek payment from the tortfeasor and when she found out she couldn't, she sought to collect on her collision coverage. Her action, or in this case inaction, clearly prejudiced Nationwide, who is prevented from recovering any payments it makes. While Miller is correct that Nationwide's right to subrogation does not exist until payment is made, the contractual rights and obligations OF BOTH PARTIES under the contract exist the moment it is executed. The rights and obligations are governed by the contract. They do not exist separate from its language. Gilbert has a right to coverage, but the obligation not to prejudice Nationwide's ability to subrogate. Nationwide has the obligation to provide coverage, but the right not to be prejudiced by Gilbert. Gilbert did prejudice Nationwide, so she doesn't have the right to coverage nor does Nationwide have the obligation to provide it. Gilbert is not simply afforded coverage, as Judge Miller claims, because she "paid her premiums."
Unfortunately, given the grant of discretionary review and the makeup of the current court, I imagine that a reversal is coming. Don't be too surprised if the Court adopts in some manner, Judge Miller's conclusions. I was surprised this case didn't garner a published opinion or at least more publicity. The Nationwide policy contains similar language to most policies, regarding subrogation and lack of prejudice. If Gilbert is allowed to recover under these circumstances, that language is most probably rendered useless, as is any attempt by the insurer to limit coverage in similar cases, where the insured blows the statute.
Full post as published by Kentucky Tort Journal on August 01, 2007 (boomark / email).
Selection of State Supreme Court Judges
How State Court Judges are Selected
California Supreme Court Proposition 8 Decision
Court Rejects Challenges to Proposition 8, but Finds Marriages Valid
Is Barack Obama a Natural Born Citizen?
Wrotnowski v. Bysiewicz (Supreme Court): Does Obama meet the constitutional requirements to be President
Unwed Fathers' Rights in Adoption
Landmark Cases in Adoption Law Shape Law with respect to Unwed Fathers
Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Career Choices
Descriptions of law enforcement occupations
Heart of Atlanta v United States
Supreme Court Decision: Civil Rights Act Protected by Interstate Commerce Clause
Hurricane Insurer
Settles 2 Class Actions for $35 Million
State Farm Class Actions
Policy Holders Settle
Wal-Mart
Faces Class Action over Return Policy
Autism Class Action
Reaches Settlement with Insurer
Canceled Insurance
Judge orders Health Net Inc. to pay $9 million settlement after terminating a policyholder's policy after being diagnosed with breast cancer.
Ebay Fined
French Court Sets Fine at $61 Million

Excess Carriers and the Insured's Attorney in Legal Malpractice
Clients Lose Settlement and Legal Malpractice Case
Subrogation Rights in Legal Malpractice
Late Notice Defense Still Requires Actual Prejudice
Cert. granted on whether subrogation waiver applies only to the "Work"
Equitable Subrogation and Legal Malpractice








