Free US Law Dictionary




Related Phrases

Declaration of Independence

A declaration of independence is an assertion of the independence of an aspiring state or states. Such places are usually declared from part or all of the territory of another nation or failed nation, or are breakaway territories from within the larger state. Not all Declarations of independences were successful and resulted in independence for these regions.

Declarations of independence are typically made without the consent of the parent state, and hence are sometimes called unilateral declarations of independence (UDI), particularly by those who question the declarations' validity.

Region Declaration Date Year Parent Signatories First recognising state Albania Albanian Declaration of Independence November 28 1912 Ottoman Empire United Provinces of South America
(Argentina) Argentine Declaration of Independence July 9 1816 Spain Congress of Tucumán Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Declaration of Independence August 30 1991 Soviet Union Popular Front of Azerbaijan Turkey Bangladesh Bangladeshi Declaration of Independence 1971 Pakistan India Belarus Belavezha Accords December 8 1991 Soviet Union Presidents of Russia, Ukraine and Belarus Turkey Belgium Belgian Declaration of Independence October 4 1830 Netherlands Provisional Government of Belgium Brazil Brazilian Declaration of Independence September 7 1822 Portugal Pedro I of Brazil Central America Central American Declaration of Independence September 15 1821 Spain Chile Chilean Declaration of Independence February 12 1818 Spain National Congress Portugal Dominican Republic Dominican Declaration of Independence February 27 1844 Haiti East Timor East Timorese Declaration of Independence November 28 1975 Portugal Morocco Estonia Estonian Declaration of Independence February 24 1918 Russia Salvation Committee Estonia Estonian Confirmation of Independence August 20 1991 Soviet Union Congress of Estonia Iceland Finland Finland's Declaration of Independence December 19 1917 Russia Parliament of Finland Georgia (country) Georgia's Declaration of Independence April 9 1991 Soviet Union Germany Georgia (U.S. state) Georgia's secession declaration January 29 1861 United States Guinea-Bissau Guinea-Bissau Declaration of Independence September 24 1973 Portugal Haiti Haitian Declaration of Independence January 1 1804 France Jean-Jacques Dessalines Hungary Hungarian Declaration of Independence April 17 1848 Austrian Empire Iceland Icelandic Declaration of Independence June 17 1944 Denmark India Indian Declaration of Independence August 15 1947 United Kingdom United States Indonesia Indonesian Declaration of Independence August 17 1945 Netherlands Sukarno & Mohammad Hatta Australia Ireland Proclamation of the Irish Republic April 24 1916 United Kingdom Irish Volunteers
Irish Citizen Army Irish Republic Irish Declaration of Independence January 21 1919 United Kingdom Dáil Éireann Soviet Union Israel Israeli Declaration of Independence May 14 1948 United Kingdom Jewish People's Council United States Katanga Katangan Declaration of Independence 1960 Congo (Léopoldville) Korea Korean Declaration of Independence March 1 1919 Japan Kosovo 1990 Kosovo declaration of independence ? 1990 Serbia Albania Kosovo Kosovo declaration of Independence February 17 2008 Serbia Assembly of Kosovo Costa Rica Latvia On the Restoration of Independence of the Republic of Latvia May 4 1990 Soviet Union Supreme Soviet of the Latvian SSR Iceland Lithuania Act of Independence of Lithuania February 16 1918 Germany Council of Lithuania Germany Lithuania Act of the Re-Establishment of the State of Lithuania March 11 1990 Soviet Union Supreme Council of Lithuania Iceland Low Countries (the Netherlands) Oath of Abjuration July 26 1581 Spain Macedonia Independence of Macedonia 1991 Yugoslavia Bulgaria Mississippi A Declaration of the Immediate Causes which Induce and Justify the Secession of the State of Mississippi from the Federal Union January 9 1861 United States Moldova Declaration of Independence of the Republic of Moldova August 27 1991 Soviet Union Parliament of the Republic of Moldova Romania Montenegro Montenegro declaration of independence June 3 2006 Serbia and Montenegro Assembly of the Republic of Montenegro New Zealand Declaration of the Independence of New Zealand 1835 United Kingdom Māori chiefs Northern America
(Mexico) Solemn Act of the Declaration of Independence of Northern America November 6 1813 Spain Congress of Anáhuac Northern Cyprus Declaration of Independence of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus November 15 1983 Cyprus Turkey Norway Constitution of Norway May 17 1814 Union according to Treaty of Kiel Constitutional assembly Pakistan August 14 1947 India Peru Act of the Declaration of Independence of Peru July 28 1821 Spain José de San Martín Palestine Palestinian Declaration of Independence November 15 1988 Israel Palestinian National Council Philippines Philippine Declaration of Independence June 12 1898 Spain Emilio Aguinaldo Rhodesia Rhodesian Unilateral Declaration of Independence November 11 1965 United Kingdom Ian Smith and the rest of the Cabinet none Romania Romanian Declaration of Independence May 22 1871 Ottoman Empire King Carol I Russia Belavezha Accords December 8 1991 Soviet Union Presidents of Russia, Ukraine and Belarus Scotland Declaration of Arbroath April 6 1320 England Scottish leaders Singapore Proclamation of Singapore[1] August 9 1965 Malaysia Lee Kuan Yew, Prime Minister of Singapore Slovenia Slovenian Declaration of Independence June 25 1991 Yugoslavia Croatia Somaliland Somaliland Declaration of Independence 1991 Somalia none South Carolina Declaration of the Immediate Causes Which Induce and Justify the Secession of South Carolina from the Federal Union December 24 1860 United States South Carolinians in Charleston Southern Cameroons Southern Cameroons Declaration of Independence December 31 1999 Cameroon none Texas Texas Declaration of Independence March 2 1836 Mexico Texas A Declaration of the Causes which Impel the State of Texas to Secede from the Federal Union February 1 1861 United States Texas Legislature Transnistria Transnistrian Declaration of Independence September 2 1990 Soviet Union Second Congress of the Peoples' Representatives of Pridnestrovie none Ukraine Belavezha Accords December 8 1991 Soviet Union Presidents of Russia, Ukraine and Belarus Poland United States United States Declaration of Independence July 4 1776 Great Britain Second Continental Congress France Uzbekistan Declaration of Independence August 31 1991 Soviet Union Supreme Council of Uzbekistan Turkey Venezuela Venezuelan Declaration of Independence July 5 1811 Kingdom of Spain Representatives of the States of Venezuela Vietnam Proclamation of Independence of the Democratic Republic of Vietnam September 2 1945 Japan Hồ Chí Minh China

Related Law Questions

Lawyers and Law Students! Can you improve this definition? Send us your improvements and we'll provide a link back to your website or blog.

Your Blog Subscriptions
Subscribe to blogs

10,000+ Law Job Listings
Lawyer . Police . Paralegal . Etc
Earn a law-related degree

Practice Area
Zip Code:

Contact a Lawyer Now!


1.3345 secs