How long do you have to pay child support in Mississippi?
By Robert M. Kisselburgh, Esq.
Child Support in Mississippi
Mississippi is in the minority of states that requires child support paid until the age of 21 or the child is otherwise emancipated. The question is what is emancipation? Mississippi Code, Section 93-11-65 defines emancipation. As of July 1, 2008, it underwent some significant changes.
There are two specific sections. The first says that emancipation shall occur when the child:
? Attains the age of twenty-one (21) years, or
? Marries, or
? Joins the military a read more
Blawg of the Day -- Mississippi Family Law Blog Robert Kisselburgh was a Dallas family lawyer for 17 years when he moved to Madison, Mississippi. Now he's blogging at the Mississippi Family Law Blog about child support, divorce, domestic violence, property division, and the other usual family law issues -- all with a Mississippi focus.
MS Judge Faces Contempt of Court Over Non-Payment of Child Support The place is Mississippi. A local man, a judge and city attorney, reportedly faces contempt of court for failing to pay past due child support of $1,500. The man contends that he can’t afford to pay it and that it is an unreasonably high amount of child support, more suited to a Hollywood celebrity than a local [...
Freinds Swap DNA to Avoid Child Support Courtesy of the Mississippi Family Law Blog comes this truly bizarre story of the lenghts that one man went to to try and avoid a child support obligation. Very bizarre: Two Army colonels face criminal charges over DNA scam When I served in the military, random drug testing was standard and steps were taken to ensure that [...
Total Divorce News Update - 2/2 - 2/8 Alabama Child Support Guidelines Revised In Alabama, the courts have issued a long overdue update to state child support guidelines. These guidelines had not been updated in 15 years...
Rhode Island Child Support Lawyer - The Child Support Law It may be helpful for those trying to understand Rhode Island Child Support to actually have the Rhode Island Child Support Statute in front of you. In fact, if you have to go before the court to a hearing on child support it is best to either know the statute very well or to take a copy of it with you...